Summer 2015 Staff

Capitol Hound

Elizabeth Bartholf
elizabeth.bartholf@reesenews.org

Lexi Namer
lexi.namer@reesenews.org

Summer internship

Kendra Benner
kendra.benner@reesenews.org

Lindsay Carbonell
lindsay.carbonell@reesenews.org

Cici Du
cici.du@reesenews.org

Camila Godoy
camila.godoy@reesenews.org

Emily Gregoire
emily.gregoire@reesenews.org

Jonathan Morris
jonathan.morris@reesenews.org

Danny Nett
danny.nett@reesenews.org

Ashley Roddy
ashley.roddy@reesenews.org

Janell Smith
janell.smith@reesenews.org

Justina Vasquez
justina.vasquez@reesenews.org

Li Zhang
li.zhang@reesenews.org


John Clark | Executive Director
johnclark@unc.edu

B.A. Mass Communication, Campbell University
M.B.A., Campbell University

John Clark has directed the Reese News Lab since July 2011 and leads courses in entrepreneurship for the School of Media and Journalism as well as UNC’s minor in entrepreneurship program. Clark has extensive experience as a leader, programmer, research and development manager and startup founder.

He is the former general manager of WRAL.com, led the early development of the nation’s first local television news application on mobile phones and co-founded News Over Wireless. Clark also managed content and development for an experimental datacasting service to deliver news and information through digital television subchannels. In 2001, he  co-founded appcomm, inc. a local Internet services company.

Clark has served on the North Carolina State University Student Media Advisory Board and was an adjunct lecturer of communication at Campbell University for eight years before returning to school for an M.B.A.

Sara Peach | Associate Director
peach@unc.edu

B.A. Environmental Studies, UNC-Chapel Hill
M.A. Journalism and Mass Communication, UNC-Chapel Hill

Sara Peach is a journalist and educator who has worked in the Reese News Lab since 2010. She has led courses in environmental journalism and media entrepreneurship at the School of Media Journalism. In mentoring students, Peach draws on her experience working as a freelance journalist for National Geographic and other environment-focused publications.

In 2013, she released News on the go: Field notes on storytelling for mobile devices, an e-book coauthored with Reese News Lab students that offers tips for journalists on adapting their work to the new generation of mobile news consumers. Along with John Clark and lab students, she was a 2014 winner of a prototype grant from the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation.

Samantha Harrington | Assistant to the Director

B.A. Journalism and Mass Communication and Asian Studies-Arab Cultures, UNC-Chapel Hill

Samantha Harrington has worked in the Reese News Lab since 2012. Throughout her time in the Lab she has worked on several projects: Capitol Hound, Lab marketing, The Forum, STEMwire and WhichWayNC. Harrington and two other UNC students won the 2014 Vimy Grant to conduct a research project in Amman, Jordan.