Spring 2016 Staff

Spring Internship

Scott Conklin
sconklin@live.unc.edu

Katie Conyers
kconyers@live.unc.edu

Wesley Hitson
wahitson@live.unc.edu

Kasia Jordan
kasiaj@live.unc.edu

Edwina Koch
edwkoch@live.unc.edu

Elliot Krause
sekrause@live.unc.edu

Casey Moore
moorecr@email.unc.edu

Sarah Whitmore
swhit@live.unc.edu

Marketing

Amulya Uppalapati
amulya.uppalapati@reesenews.org

Media entrepreneurship reporter

Lindsay Carbonell
lcarbone@live.unc.edu

Campaign Hound

Meredith Richards
mere94@live.unc.edu


John Clark | Executive Director
johnclark@unc.edu

B.A. Mass Communication, Campbell University
M.B.A., Campbell University

John Clark has directed the Reese News Lab since July 2011 and leads courses in entrepreneurship for the School of Media and Journalism as well as UNC’s minor in entrepreneurship program. Clark has extensive experience as a leader, programmer, research and development manager and startup founder.

He is the former general manager of WRAL.com, led the early development of the nation’s first local television news application on mobile phones and co-founded News Over Wireless. Clark also managed content and development for an experimental datacasting service to deliver news and information through digital television subchannels. In 2001, he  co-founded appcomm, inc. a local Internet services company.

Clark has served on the North Carolina State University Student Media Advisory Board and was an adjunct lecturer of communication at Campbell University for eight years before returning to school for an M.B.A.

Sara Peach | Associate Director
peach@unc.edu

B.A. Environmental Studies, UNC-Chapel Hill
M.A. Journalism and Mass Communication, UNC-Chapel Hill

Sara Peach is a journalist and educator who has worked in the Reese News Lab since 2010. She has led courses in environmental journalism and media entrepreneurship at the School of Media Journalism. In mentoring students, Peach draws on her experience working as a freelance journalist for National Geographic and other environment-focused publications.

In 2013, she released News on the go: Field notes on storytelling for mobile devices, an e-book coauthored with Reese News Lab students that offers tips for journalists on adapting their work to the new generation of mobile news consumers. Along with John Clark, she was a 2015 winner of the Knight News Challenge from the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation.

Hannah Wang | Campaign Hound Project Manager
hannah.wang@reesenews.org

B.A. English, UNC-Chapel Hill
B.A. Economics, UNC-Chapel Hill

Hannah Wang first joined Reese News Lab as an intern in 2013. She spent three semesters working on Lab projects with focuses ranging from second-screen experiences to corporate compliance. That last project turned into Kinethics, a startup creating compliance training that focuses on the stories behind corruption.

Wang rejoined the Lab in the fall of 2015 to manage Campaign Hound, an online service that transcribes speeches by political candidates and makes them available through a searchable archive.